East Africa

African lecturer speaks to two audiences in Wilson.

Wilson Daily Times, 5 September 1916.

Accolades notwithstanding, I have not been able to find anything else about Dr. C.E. Chechzzli or determine more precisely where he was from. After the Scramble for Africa, five European colonizers — Britain, Italy, France, Belgium, and Germany — controlled parts of eastern Africa now comprising Somalia, Djibouti, Eritrea, Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Malawi, Rwanda, and Burundi. ¬†However, “East Africa,” in English-speaking countries, traditionally has been understood as the territory now comprising Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania.

Clipping courtesy of J. Robert Boykin III.